Starting My 4th Year

Just returned to Waskaganish less than two weeks ago, from Toronto, Ontario.

We started work last Thursday and I have to say, I don’t feel as stressed or anxious as I have in the past. There’s so many things I’ve got in my bag of tricks that the issue is figuring out what order to do everything in, not what I’m going to do with them.

Today was the first day of school and while it has been chaotic – the printers were not working, the student schedules changed multiple times and students arrived in the wrong classroom rather confused – things have been going well. This will be my 4th year teaching as a full-time math and science teacher. Nearly every single student I have already has a relationship with me; there are a couple of new faces in Grade 10, but the bulk of them are used to how the classroom is run and what makes me tick. I have the same workload as 2015-2016: Grade 10 math and science and Grade 11 math and science.

Can’t wait to get things started!

Leave a Reply

